Old Friends

It’s not easy to move the Pages. Our books are heavy. Our movers decided that the knitting book boxes were the heaviest. We have so many boxes of books, movers usually ask if we are college professors. No, Bucky tells them, we just need lots of books to fill up all the bookcases.

In the process of unpacking endless boxes of books, I have come across some old friends. How splendid it has been to get reacquainted with the Barbara Walker treasuries, Alice Starmore’s Fair Isle Knitting and the glories of Kaffe in the early days. Our movers decided that the knitting book boxes were the heaviest. Movers usually ask if we are college professors. No, Bucky tells them, we just need lots of books to fill up all the bookcases.

So, I just got a new book. I don’t feel bad about this, because I set aside a pile of books I can live without. There are spaces that need to be filled. Thanks to the Harlot, I discovered Terri Shea. Selbuvotter, Biography of a Knitting Tradition. It’s all stranded mittens in traditional patterns from Norway. I pulled some Shelridge Farms Soft Wool out of the stash- it’s fingering weight in salmon and a dark, smoky grey. Gives me shivers. The minute I can find the camera and the cord thingie, I’ll post a picture.

3 responses to “Old Friends

  1. Ooh! Ooh! I can’t wait! Go find the camera cord thingie!

  2. It’s time for you to post again, Dawn. Someone, by the way, on ravelry requested that she could post my two pics of my two Baby Joy by Dawn sweaters on some site within the site. Your fame spreads apace.

    Miss ya, Lynda

Leave a Reply

